my heart’s in the highlands

There is no doubt that Scotland is very beautiful: hills, mountains, lochs, waterfalls, wonderful flowers, beaches, trees, wildlife and so on… So if you are thinking of coming here on holiday… DON’T DO IT! At least, not in August, in a tent. And if I should ever suggest coming again, just say one word to me – MIDGES.

After leaving Applecross I went to Torridon and found a delightful campsite. Delightful in the day time anyway. By the evening the hoards of midges had descended, in their thousands, making it impossible to even leave the tent. Thank heavens for midge-proof netting. And whisky.

Despite all this, this song has been singing in my head, Bob Dylan’s version, which ends with:

Well, my heart’s in the Highlands at the break of day
Over the hills and far away
There’s a way to get there and I’ll figure it out somehow
But I’m already there in my mind
And that’s good enough for now

 But then I realise the Robbie Burns got there first:
My heart’s in the Highlands, my heart is not here,
My heart’s in the Highlands a-chasing the deer –
A-chasing the wild deer, and following the roe;
My heart’s in the Highlands, wherever I go.
Another picture of the delightful dog, waiting patiently at the steps to my luxury caravan and temporary home at Applecross. Better than a picture of a midge any day. I met someone who told me the old Scots word for a midge is MOLLAHAWK. Sounds much more vicious and suitable
DSCF3203
2 thoughts on “my heart’s in the highlands

  1. what happens to the dog, now that you’re gone? There’s a story. Will he find his (or her) way to Alnwick, battling against the odds?

    Like

  2. This post reminded me of this song I haven’t heard for a very long time……you need it on very loud whilst sitting in a darkened room…..

    Like

Leave a Reply

